Tuesday, May 22, 2012

20 weeks.... 20 weeks??!!

Your monthly update my friends.....

We have officially hit the 20 week mark! Half way there! Translation: Katie will start FREAKING out cause all we have done is buy bedding and move some furniture around in the soon to be nursery.... absolutely nothing else. Wow, we have alot to do. Although..... I do think we have him named (: I'm not telling, but if you ask Chris, he will tell you in a heartbeat. He isn't good at secrets like that. Haha. In all honesty, I think we do have the name picked out!! 

We had our 20 week ultrasound done today... the anatomy check. Baby Glick is measuring exactly to his due date in all areas. During the ultrasound, his legs were all stretched out, which was cool to see. I have been feeling him doing somersaults in my stomach for the past 2 1/2 or 3 weeks, with increasing strength and frequency (think of the feeling when you drop in an elevator). It's such a cool feeling and I can't wait for Chris to be able to feel him kick! Overall, we have had a pretty uneventful pregnancy... fingers crossed it will continue till the boy is about 25 years old. We are so excited to meet him and can't believe we are 1/2 way there! I havent had a chance to take any 20 week pictures, but those will come! Here are a few from the past few weeks..... pregnancy nudity at its best:
                                                           
                                                                 17 Weeks


18 Weeks



Also, I am back to working out.... now that I can actually function like a normal human being. I am doing something to make Baby Glick a star (: My bootcamp trainer made me an offer I couldn't resist. He would give me free "pregnancy friendly" workouts if I would allow him to video record them to post for his online bootcamp (pregnancy version). I jumped on it! So there will be videos of me working out with my growing belly, and that is why I need to move to Japan. Hehe. Its been great and it feel sooooo good to workout again!

Hope all is well with everyone out there! I'll try to post again soon!

xo

Monday, April 23, 2012

BOY or GIRL?

I have been so excited to post this!! Chris and I had decided that we wanted to find out the gender of Baby Glick early, because we both are terrible at waiting and keeping our own secrets... so.... we scheduled for a "super ultrasound" at a place in town called Ultrasona. They do gender identification for a small fee, and you get pictures of the baby. This company also does 3D pictures of the baby, but we opted not to get that since Baby G looks a bit like an alien. The baby was SO active during the ultrasound! We were able to watch it for about 15 minutes because it was moving around so much that the tech couldnt get a good shot of the "goods". Here are some pictures she got of the baby...

                                                                 His/Her arm waving "hi"

Angry Snowman Face (:


Profile Shot


And the one you have all been waiting for....... IT'S A BOY!!!


Yes, indeed, there will be another Glick boy in town, so look out (: At the time of the appointment, I was a little over 14 weeks. The baby was measuring right on target, and we were able to hear the heartbeat again. It was such a cool experience to see him moving around so much! Chris was SO excited it is a boy, and seeing the baby actually look human and move around really made it "real" for him. It was such a great experience!

Now, I am well into the 2nd trimester, being 16 weeks along. It is very true what they say that the belly really starts to pop out. Here are some belly progression pictures...

                                                                 12 weeks

14 weeks


                                                                     15 Weeks

16 weeks (mama is 31!)


Since the 2nd trimester started, I have felt SO much better! The nausea is gone, for the most part, and I have more energy! I will be visiting Michelle and Tony in Florida this weekend, so beach goers should beware... I will be in a bikini :o

I will be sure to post more updates as Baby BOY Glick grows, but for now... that's all I've got (:

Enjoy!

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

A Rave in My Belly

So, a quick update.... today Chris and I had an appointment and heard Baby G's heartbeat for the first time! It was so cool! I definately have claimed myself as an "ultrasound" girl... I was disappointed to hear that we wouldn't be seeing the baby again till about 20 weeks. Chris, on the other hand, thought hearing the heartbeat got his emotions rolling. Either way, it was such a wonderful sound to hear! Doc said it was about 160 bpm, which is normal. Apparently, baby's hearts beat much faster than ours. We like to refer it as the "rave in my belly.....lots of fist pumping, heart pounding fun (without the drugs)". I have also read that a baby's heartbeat that is over 140 is more likely to be a boy. I asked the doc about this one, and she said that is more true for the heartrate in the third trimester. The doc also gave us the results of all my labs from our initial visit. For all that are interested, I have A-positive blood type, and apparently my hemoglobin is "exceptional". Hey, we all have our moment to shine, right?! I tend to refer to it as my hemogoblin, but Chris is quick to remind me that it is not a monster (: We are thinking about getting a 3D ultrasound done (its "extra) to find out the sex of the baby a bit sooner.... need to schedule that STAT. On another note, I may be brewing up a throat infection.... *^$@&$ !!! I am really hoping once the throat infection clears, the honeymoon of trimester 2 will begin! I have yet to have any "feelings" of boy or girl, and I've been caught referring to the munchkin as "he" and "she". We will see.....

Sunday, March 25, 2012

The 13 week Hangover....

Hello again! If you just read the first post, and you have done your math, you may realize that we are nearing the end of the first trimester (Yippee!). I am 12 weeks, 2 days today. Now, let me preface this with one thing.... I couldn't be happier that I am pregnant. It is the most amazing experience to have your little one growing in your belly. That being said, let's talk about the first trimester. Now I have ALOT of friends that are pregnant right now. Actually, I have 5 friends that are due this May alone! Their experiences with their first trimester were "I was really tired". OK.... I understand that everyones pregnancy is a wee bit different, but nobody prepared me for what was to come. I like to call it the 13 week hangover.

Here is a recap:

Weeks 5-6 1/2: Just found out we were expecting. So excited, but a bit tired. I kind of felt "funny", and my brain felt "foggy". My thought: I can handle these pregnancy symptoms (:

Weeks 6 1/2-9 1/2: We got our first ultrasound and doc said everything looked perfect (: I couldn't lift my head off the pillow in the morning without forcing down crackers. I felt as if I drank an entire bottle of whiskey the night before (the thought still makes me dry heave- thanks OU). Morning sickness was in full effect.... and the whole "morning" part of the title was very deceiving. It was more like" every hour of the day except from about 4pm-8pm sickness". I never actually got sick, but was just incredibly nauseous, and did lose a few pounds. I had big time food aversions.... Someone offering me a piece of chicken was like someone offering me rotten human flesh. No thank you. I still can't bare the thought of bratwurst or pork. I lived off of cereal, apple juice, rice, and blueberries. At one point, I drank 64oz of apple juice in a 12 hour period. I haven't touched it since, but it tasted sooo good at the time. Chris was constantly consulting me before making dinner (smart man). He quickly learned that something that sounded good at 3pm could be my arch nemesis at 6pm. I have never seen him so patient in all my life (: He will be a good daddy. During this time, Baby Glick has more than doubled in size.... I'm exhausted just thinking about all the work the little booger is doing!

Weeks 9 1/2-11: Starting to be able to eat a wider variety of foods. Meat is consumable... for the most part. The nausea is starting to subside. I can get out of bed and make my own breakfast (YIPPEE), but still have to make sure I eat often. Salt has been tasty as of lately. Yes, I have eating a jar of pickles, but not in one sitting (: The nausea seems to hit me more around 3 or 4pm, especially if I have been on the go all day. One new "symptom" that is slightly hysterical is that I will dry heave in the mornings. No puking (whew!), but I sound like I am singing death metal. Chris and I find it comical, so its a combo of dry heaving and laughing. It only lasts like the first 7 minutes I am awake, and then goes away, so I consider myself lucky. I also hiccup in the morning...... alot. Maybe I should start sleeping with my mouth closed. Baby Glick is almost now fully formed. Once the second trimester begins, the baby just needs to "mature"- everything is already formed. No wonder my body is feeling all these weird things.... Baby G is working hard!

Week 12: We are now into week 12!!! Nausea is not too bad.... comes and goes, but usually if I allow myself time to rest and keep up on my snacking, I can keep it under control. I can eat almost anything again (except bratwurst, which kind of creeped me out prebaby). I'm starting to get a bit of a belly. My pants can no longer button, so I have invested in some maternity clothes (Thanks Mamma!). We get to hear the heartbeat on Wed (3/28) and are so excited! We are very open about telling anyone we see, and the big "facebook reveal" will be after our 3/28 appointment. I have caught back up with my weight (since I initially lost weight), and think I have gained about 4 lbs since my prepregnancy weight (they say 5 lbs in first trimester is normal). This is according to my scale, so we will see when I go to the doc.
Here are some belly pictures for your viewing pleasure.... (:

8 weeks


10 weeks

11 weeks

12 weeks


We are so excited to meet our little one!!!



Alright, I think its snack time (: Chat soon!






Our BIGGEST update ever!

Ok, so I know that I started this with the intention of keeping up with it, but life happens so quickly, and I never could actually sit down to update. In the past 4 months, Chris and I have had alot going on. We started 2012 with alot of "new". Chris got a new job and started in Janurary. He is still in the insurance industry, but is working for one of the bigger companies. Needless to say, our insurance coverage is great, and low premiums (: This couldn't have come at a better time, because about 2 weeks after he started, we found out we are PREGNANT! That is right folks... the universe is allowing us to procreate! (: We couldn't be more excited!! We told those very close to us quite early.... at about 6 weeks along, because we couldn't keep the secret for long! Here is what we gave our parents to announce our news....

Chris played a role in deciding how to tell our parents, but I had to cut those little holes perfectly to fit the "he" and "she" (I swore the entire time!). So, needless to say, many of my postings are going to be about all the preparations for the baby. I tend to be brutally honest and give TMI (too much info), so let this be your warning! (: I am documenting the growth of the belly bump, and will provide updates in future posts. For now, here is our first picture of our little nugget that we will be meeting October 5, 2012!! Isn't he/she cute? (: